Genevieve Nnaji, Akin Omotoso, Cynthia Erivo are Now Members of The Academy


The Academy of Motion Picture, Arts and Sciences, has released its list of new members, with 819 invitees, including Nollywood actress, Genevieve Nnaji, Nigerian film director Akin Omotoso (“Tell Me Sweet Something“), and Cynthia Erivo (“Harriet“).

In 2018, Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, Femi Odugbemi and Simon Onwurah became members of The Academy.

In an effort to make its members more diverse, if all 819 invitees accept their invitations, 45% of the new members will be women and 36% are people of colour. International make-up is 49% from 68 countries.

“The Academy is delighted to welcome these distinguished fellow travellers in the motion picture arts and sciences. We have always embraced extraordinary talent that reflects the rich variety of our global film community, and never more so than now,” said Academy president David Rubin said in a statement.

Next on the Academy’s agenda is Aperture 2025 to advance inclusion and representation in membership and the film…




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here